Falling off the map...A Buenos Aires Adventure

Spanish Spanish everywhere | October 16, 2009

Well Well, for whatever reason I have had more views on my blog then I thought I would.  So here is another installment of my adventures for week one.

Did anyone ever see ¨Lost in Translation¨? Welcome to my life.  No, I am not surrounded by tiny Japanese men.  In this world I´m surrounded by an array of Spanish people.  You are probably thinking ¨well duh Erika, you´re in Argentina¨but you never know how out-of-place you feel until you´re standing in a crowded subway with all eyes on you.  And no, i´m not exaggerating. For me, it´s like being at Ozfest in the mosh pit. Or, Bill Murray being stuck on an elevator with 5 foot Japanese men.  Even better, the Backstreet boys opening for Metalica. It´s just a different reality, a different feeling, a different emotion.  Trying to fit in is am impossible feat no matter how hard I try.  Even worse, when you get on that same subway in tow of your Argentinean boyfriend.  Stares from girls become hard to ignore.  But it´s ok, nothing a smile and a kiss on the boyfriend´s cheek won´t solve.

Language.  What a tricky business.  I thought my years of high school Spanish and refresher would be okay.  However, they never prepared me for slang.  Case in point, this past Wednesday.  Argentina finally won their ticket to the World Cup.  When asked about it, the coach told the media to ¨blow it¨which believe me in Spanish sounds awfully sweet, until it´s of course translated. Additionally, if you ever wanted to know how fast Argentinians speak, google ¨terms and conditions in Spanish¨.  You´ll see what I mean.

So I use this to explain my new experience this week. Alto Palermo, the mall of a thousand head scratches.  This mall is conveniently located two blocks from my residence.  To show everyone I will post some cool pictures this weekend but I digress.  I went in looking for only one thing.  A new shirt to wear to a family event I have to attend this evening (Bill Murray caught in an elevator with someone elses Japanese family).  I suddenly learned very quickly my Spanish would need to be in full play on this day.  As I went to each store I was greeted and asked several quick questions about what I was needing.  I walked out empty handed by the day’s end.  To no fault of the wonderful Spanish speaking sales women but through fault of my own.  No prior research of sizes, designers or ¨clothes slang¨as I fondly refer to it now.  Who knew that I would need Spanish to pick out a shirt! I never sat in Spanish class and thought, ¨hey maybe I should ask to teach me how to shop¨.  I never thought I would be living in Argentina either.  Go Figure.

Oh, of anyone wants a food suggestion. try empanadas.  They are fairly easy to make in the states just google the recipe.  I swear by them and they are what is keeping me alive during the day as it is pretty easy to get.  Empanadas con pollo (with chicken).

Well, more next week in which I intend to take a journey beyond the comfort of Palermo.  And remember, if you get an email from me and it has an ñ in it.  Just know that I am trying to screw with your mind…

Chao

Erika

Posted in Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Lol. I received your Fb message, and i seriously think that u’re gonna need some help on the BA malls. Count on Ce. =)

    Comment by ceciliette — October 16, 2009 @ 8:29 pm


Leave a Reply

About author

i'm a 25 year old who traveled to Argentina is search of a new scene. Hope you enjoy my blog of several adventures

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

